Skip to content
North Yorkshire Counts — North Yorkshire, in numbers.Local help →

North Yorkshire, in numbers

Projects

North Yorkshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

5 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Deverell and Claro Barracks, Laver Banks and former Engineering Park

Ripon Barracks redevelopment

Former military land is planned for homes, a school, community facilities and green spaces. Development will be phased as different parts of the site become available.

Land acquired; planning permission and phased delivery plan · evidence dated 2025-06-17

Responsible body: Homes England with the Ministry of Defence and North Yorkshire Council

What the source says: The government confirms the land sale and permission for 1,300 homes. The vacant Deverell site is first, while later land follows the Royal Engineers’ relocation. Homes England must coordinate infrastructure before construction.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Unmapped: a verified current ward boundary or council ward statement is still needed.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Homes England acquires Ripon Barracks →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Match Ripon Barracks homes to land release and infrastructure →

Keep Ripon’s housing phases tied to services →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Ripon city and its role as a rural service centre

Ripon investment plan

Local priorities are being brought together to guide bids for improvements to businesses, heritage, green space and connections.

Investment plan in development after initial engagement · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: North Yorkshire Council and York and North Yorkshire Combined Authority

What the source says: The council says the initial survey closed on 30 November 2025 and the plan is being shaped around emerging themes. It explicitly describes guidance for future funding bids.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Unmapped: a verified current ward boundary or council ward statement is still needed.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Vision for the future of Ripon →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Ripon Town Hall, Market Place South

Ripon Town Hall: proposed transfer and community use

The proposed transfer to Ripon City Council aims to support restoration, heritage protection and wider public use of the building.

Transfer approved in principle, subject to terms and conditions · evidence dated 2026-04-21

Responsible body: North Yorkshire Council and Ripon City Council

What the source says: The Executive’s published minutes record approval in principle to transfer the Town Hall below market value if conditions are met. Restoration and wider public access were stated ambitions. The decision does not confirm a completed transfer, funded restoration or reopened facilities.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No verified current ward footprint is assigned. The named location or council-wide remit does not establish benefits in every ward.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Ripon Town Hall: proposed transfer and community use →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Tie Town Hall ownership to sustainable public access →

Protect Ripon Town Hall’s potential community role →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Scarborough

Scarborough Station Gateway first stage

The current scheme proposes an improved arrival area, pedestrian space, taxi arrangements and disabled parking. Funding for this phase is not completion of the wider regeneration.

Funded public-space proposal; completion not verified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: North Yorkshire Council

What the source says: The current scheme proposes an improved arrival area, pedestrian space, taxi arrangements and disabled parking. Funding for this phase is not completion of the wider regeneration.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Scarborough Station Gateway →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Make Scarborough’s station arrival accessible →

How to track delivery →

Selby

Selby Station Gateway

Councillors reported frustration over delays. The update covered station access, bus facilities and a restored underpass element, with demolition forecast for May.

Funding and delivery update presented in March 2026; actual start not verified · evidence dated 2026-03-19

Responsible body: North Yorkshire Council

What the source says: Councillors reported frustration over delays. The update covered station access, bus facilities and a restored underpass element, with demolition forecast for May.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Selby Station Gateway committee update →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Resolve Selby’s delayed station surroundings →

How to track delivery →